Sunday, September 30, 2007

Re: Fiqh Question

My question is in regards to alcohol in foods according to the Hanafi madhhab. Recently, my  mother purchased a chocolate brownie cake which contained ehtyl alcohol and propylene glycol. I was wondering if it would be permissible to consume since the cake has been baked. Or if it's haram regardless.

Answer: It is forbidden to eat this cake.